Election results

Montgomery County voters took to the polls tonight to cast their votes a number of key races, including the U.S. Presidential race.

In the race for president, it was incumbent Republican Donald Trump/Mike Pence earning 3,653 votes. Democrat challenger Joe Biden/Kamala Harris earned 1,583 votes,. Third party voting was as follows:

Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente/Darcy G. Richardson, three votes; Don Blankenship/William Alan Mohr, nine votes; Ricki Sue King/Dayna R. Chandler, one vote; Howie Hawkins/Angela Nicole Walker, six votes;; Brock Pierce/Karla Ballard, two votes; and Kanye West/Michelle Tidball, 49 votes.

In the Board of Supervisors race for District Three, Republican Randy Cooper, who won the nomination, received 644 votes, and incumbent Bryant Amos, who was running as an Independent, earned 413 votes.

Republican Donna Robinson was running unopposed for Montgomery County Supervisor District Five and received 951 votes, and 100 percent of the vote. There were no write-ins.

Republican Stephanie Burke was running unopposed for Montgomery County Auditor and received 4,680 votes, and also 100 percent of the ballots cast. There were no write-ins.

Republican Jon Spunaugle was running unopposed for Montgomery County Sheriff. Current sheriff Joe Sampson announced he would not run for re-election this year. Spunagle, earned 100 percent of the vote, with 4,624, there were no write-ins.

In other national and statewide races, for U.S. Senator, Republican incumbent Joni Ernst received 3,627 votes, and Democratic challenger Theresa Greenfield earned 1,519 votes. Libertarian candidate Rick Stewart had 98 votes, and Suzanne Herzog, with no party affiliation, received 46 votes.

In the contested race for State Senator, District 12, ,Republican incumbent Mark Costello received 3,139 votes. Democratic Challenger Joseph Norris took home 1,979 votes.

For State Representative District 23, Republican Incumbent David Sieck was unopposed for his seat, earning 3.097 votes.

For State Representative District 24, Republican incumbent Cecil Dolecheck defeated Democratic challenger Chris Adcock by a vote of 1,036-360.

Rodney Hart won the Frankfort Township Trustee race with 121 votes.

Gary Querry defeated John Willms in the Garfield Township Trustee rage, by a vote of 115-93.

Dennis Carlson was the winner of the Grant Township Trustee race, with 119 votes, defeating John Sunberg who had 111 votes.

The Lincoln Township Trustee was Kirk Baird, with 81 votes.

For Pilot Grove Township Trustee, Ronald Adams defeated David W. Olson with 91 votes. Olson received 73.

Donna DeVries will be the Red Oak Township Trustee, earning 208 votes.

Mike Jackson is the Washington Township Trustee, with 108 votes.

The Sherman Township Trustee was won by Dan Phelps with 94 votes, to James Good’s 76 votes.

David Gholinghorst was the West Township Trustee winner. Gholinghorst received 87 votes, and Edgar R. Wilkins Sr. received 54 votes.

In the Montgomery County Hospital Trustees race, with three of the four candidates being selected to serve on the board, Lorin Petersen received 2,681 votes; Sarah Wearin Smith 2,527 votes; James Norris 2,568 votes; and Ann Carder 2,741 votes.

In the race for Montgomery County Soil and Water Conservation Commissioner, three were running for the three spots. Kent D. Swanson got 3,282 votes; David Carbaugh 3,367 votes; and Fred Hossle 3,246 votes.

Four were on the ballot for the four spots on the Montgomery County Agricultural Extension Council. Lucas Oster took home 3,099 votes; Kassandra Houdek 2,801 votes; Mike Thomas 2,755 votes; and Chad Jacobs 2941 votes.

On the Judicial side of the ballot, voters were asked whether to retain or not retain the four Supreme Court Justices. Susan Kay Christensen, Edward Mansfield, Christopher McDonald, and Thomas Waterman were all retained.

For Court of Appeals, Thomas N. Bower, David May, Julie A. Schumacher, and Sharon Soorholtz Greer were all retained

For District Four Court Judge, Craig Michael Dreismeier, James S. Heckerman, Michael Donn Hooper, Margeret J. Reyes, and Amy L. Zacharias were all retained

For Dsitrcit Four Associate Judge, Jennifer A. Benson, Eric John Nelson, and Scott D. Strait were all retained.

The last item on the ballot was for Public Measure One, “Shall there be a convention to revise the Constitution and propose amendments or amendments to same?” It was defeated with 3,427 no votes, to 1,103 yes votes.

The Red Oak Express

2012 Commerce Drive
P.O. Box 377
Red Oak, IA 51566
Phone: 712-623-2566 Fax: 712-623-2568

Comment Here